Steve Helmich

Board Chair & Chair of Governance, Nominations & Remuneration Committees

Non-Executive 'Elected' Director


Dip FP (Diploma Financial Planning), FANZII (Fellow ANZ Insurance Institute), SF Fin (Senior Fellow FINSIA), MAICD (Member Australian Institute of Company Directors) and a graduate of the Advanced Executive Program (Kellogg Institute – Northwestern University).


During his career at AMP, Steve successfully led the financial planning business through periods of reform and change. He was responsible for the strong growth in AMP Financial Planning and Hillross as well as the establishment of the Horizons Financial Planning Academy. He is a past Chairman of the Financial Planning Association of Australia (2002 – 2004), a past Trustee and the Chair of Future2 (the foundation of the Australian Financial Planning Association) and a past Director and Chair of the global Financial Planning Standards Board (FPSB).


Steve is currently a Director of Count Financial Planning and joined the G&C Board following the merger with Quay Credit Union in 2016.


Period of Appointment: 4 years to AGM 2025

Dave Taylor

Deputy Chair

Non-Executive ‘Elected’ Director


BA First Class Honours (Adelaide University), Diploma in Advanced Management (Cornell Business School - USA)


Dave Taylor was the Chief Executive Officer of G&C Mutual Bank between April 2010 - June 2021. Dave has over 30 years of finance industry experience across a wide range of management, consulting and Board roles, including 11 years as a Senior Executive with Credit Union Services Corporation (CUSCAL) and 9 years as Managing Director of Finance Industry Consulting Services.

Previously the holder of University and Government advisory positions between 1984–1989. Dave has held numerous Directorships in the finance industry, including on the Boards of mutual banks, credit unions, industry superannuation funds and ASX-listed companies, and is currently a Director of CUFSS Limited, ASX-listed Moneyme Limited (MME) and Shared Service Partners Pty Ltd. Dave was also previously a Director of the Australian Payments Clearing Association and a Government-appointed member of the Australian Payment Systems Council.


Period of Appointment: 4 years to AGM 2026

Peter Clarke

Chair of Board Audit Committee

Non-Executive ‘Appointed’ Director


Peter is a highly qualified and experienced finance professional and has held a number of senior executive roles at AMP. He was responsible for the development of AMP’s funds management exposure to the Industry Super Funds, growing funds under management to over one billion dollars. He was the Managing Director of Cobalt Solutions, the AMP subsidiary responsible for the run-off of AMP’s reinsurance subsidiary that it acquired as a result of the purchase of GIO. At the time this was one of the largest run-off portfolios in the world. Peter joined the Board of AMP Credit Union (Quay Credit Union) in early 2008 and was the Chair from December 2014 up until the merger with G&C Mutual Bank.


Peter holds a Bachelor of Economics, is a Certified Practising Accountant, a Fellow of the Finance Institute of Australia, a Senior Associate of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance, a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Member of the Australian Mutuals Institute.


Period of Appointment: 1 year to AGM 2024

Julianne Welbourn

Chair of Board Risk Committee

Non-Executive 'Elected' Director


Julianne has 32 years of experience in the mutual financial services sector holding various executive positions including Loans Manager, Operations Manager, Deputy CEO and culminating in serving as MOVE Bank’s CEO for 10 years, retiring in July 2017.


Julianne has previously held positions on the Instil and Customer Owned Banking Association (COBA) Boards including serving as COBA’s Chair. Julianne has previously held a position with NSW Hockey being appointed to the Board in May 2019 and was elected Vice President in 2020.


Period of Appointment: 4 years to AGM 2027

Jamie McPhee

Non-Executive 'Elected' Director


Bachelor of Civil Engineering (Hons), Masters in Business Administration (Adelaide University), FAICD (Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors), SF Fin (Senior Fellow FINSIA)

Jamie is an experienced C-suite executive and director with over 35 years of experience in Financial Services. He was Chief Executive Officer of ME Bank between Feb 2010 – July 2020. Prior to that he served as an Executive Director of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited and was the Managing Director of Adelaide Bank.

Jamie has previously held a number of Board roles including the Chair of SocietyOne, a leading digital finance platform and has also served on the board of the South Australian Cricket Association, Rural Bank and Melbourne Renegades.

He is an active investor and advisor in the FinTech industry.


Period of Appointment: 4 years to AGM 2027

Leanne Harris

Non-Executive ‘Appointed’ Director


Master of Business Administration (University of Newcastle), MAICD (Member Australian Institute of Company Directors)

Leanne has extensive experience in the mutual banking sector, including 36 years with Laboratories Credit Union (LCU). During this time Leanne managed a variety of responsibilities across HR, Compliance, IT and Project Management in her role of Assistant General Manager, prior to serving as General Manager for 7 years until her retirement in October 2022.

During her tenure, Leanne oversaw the implementation of a number of key compliance and technology projects. She also represented LCU on the Macquarie Business Chamber, CSIRO Alumni, Northern Sydney Science Hub, Small Australian Mutuals Network and has participated in a variety of Customer Owned Banking Association (COBA) advisory groups.


Period of Appointment: 1 year to February 2025